Article in Today’s Wichita Eagle: Reduction Sought in Probation Failure Rate

Posted: May 5, 2013 in FYI, News
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Deb Gruver has an article in today’s paper which highlights some causes for probation failure in Kansas. While the article does mention unemployment as a leading cause, Ms. Gruver dedicates the majority of her article to Community Corrections funding and the possibility of using assessments to judge whether or not probation is appropriate.

GC thanks Ms. Gruver for putting the spotlight on this issue; however, the root causes for recidivism are not discussed. I have emailed Ms. Gruver in hopes of opening a dialog that will benefit probationers and our community as a whole.

I encourage my readers to comment on the article, which can be found here. Reduction Sought in Probation Failure Rate

 

Comments
  1. Hey there I am so grateful I found your webpage, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I donít have time to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb job.

  2. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  3. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. However imagine if you added some great photos or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this site could certainly be one of the best in its niche. Superb blog!

    • Thanks for the input! Yes, I would love to add photos and video. I’ll definitely work on that. I am hoping to have a volunteer (and eventually employee) to maintain our web presence and social media. If anyone out there is willing to take an aspect on, please let me know! In the meantime, I will work to get this done. Thanks for reading!

  4. I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

Leave a comment